Honors Committee

The Honors Committee according to the founding resolution of the NTCC Board of Trustees in 2007 is the governing body of Honors Northeast. It consists of the Honors Director, professors and administrators representing different academic divisions of the college, and a student representative who is also president of the Honors Student Council. The committee has met every semester since the program’s founding in 2007. As the Committee selects the candidates for Honors Northeast, and its policies, we have benefitted immensely from the perspective, and guidance of its members through the years.


Honors Committee Member - Erika Garza

Erika Garza – Honors Committee Member. Garza is the Director of Title V Grants and the Director of Academic Success at NTCC. She received her M.B.A. from Texas A&M University-Texarkana. She has counseled and encouraged many of our honors students through the years.




​ Honors Committee Member - Drew Murphy

Dr. Drew Murphy – Honors Committee Member. Murphy is a Chemistry Professor at NTCC. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Southern California, and did post-doctoral work in Chemistry at University of California San Diego and in Biochemistry at the Yale School of Medicine. He has offered a special Honors research seminar experience in Chemistry to several honors students who have gone on to lucrative transfers to Rice, UT Austin, Texas A&M, and Texas Tech.



​ Honors Committee Member - Heidi Wooten

Heidi Wooten – Honors Committee Member. Wooten is a Professor of Economics and serves as Division Chair for the Business and Technology Department. She received her M.S. from Texas A & M University. Wooten has helped supply ancillary financial support for honors students, and was instrumental in the development of Stephani Calderon’s research in 2013, and in her eventual success winning a Jack Kent Cooke scholarship.



Past NTCC Honors Committees


Honors Committee - 2018



Honors Committee - 2016