News & Newsletters

  • Bonnie Spencer winners
    Bonnie Spencer Awards announced

    Three NTCC history students emerged on top in the 2023 Bonnie Spencer competition, for the best student essays in history, outside of the honors seminars.  Essays could have been entered from any other history course from any history instructor, full-time or part-time, on campus or off, such as with embedded dual history classes. Andrew Higgins, a dual enrollment student from Mount Vernon High School won first place...

  • contest winners
    Winners of annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest announced

    On 5 May, for the fifteenth time, community judges and NTCC students converged on the foyer of the Whatley Center for the Performing Arts at NTCC for an annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest.  The scholarly competition was enabled again by generous grants, from Beverly Kelley of Mount Vernon, and the McGraw-Hill Education Corporation—through the special work of Bill Welsh, and Casey Slaght who work in the corporate office in Dubuque, Iowa.  

  • Skylar Fondren
    Skylar Fondren named Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar

    Skylar Fondren, a Presidential Honors Scholar at Northeast Texas Community College, has been named a 2023 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship. Skylar was named a Leader of Promise by Phi Theta Kappa in 2021 and has been very active in Honors Northeast, Phi Theta Kappa, and NTCC’s Journalism program.

  • 2021 Bonnie Spencer award winners
    Entries sought for annual Bonnie Spencer Awards

    Expertise has its own rewards. In the case of history essays at Northeast Texas Community College, the reward might be something greater than an ‘A’.  For the eighth straight year, the history professors of NTCC will feature the Bonnie Spencer Awards for the best three research papers in non-honors classes.  The first-place winner will receive $100, the second place, $50, and the third, $25. 

  • Daniel Landaverde, NTCC McGraw-Hill Competitor in 2019-2020.
    Annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest planned for May 5th

    The Fifteenth Annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest is set for Friday, May 5th at 9:30 a.m. in the foyer of the Whatley Center for the Performing Arts at Northeast Texas Community College. This contest recognizes and rewards creative student scholarship in Northeast Texas. Area high school seniors, college and university students are welcome to compete. Prizes range from $100 for fourth place to $400 for first place. Community judges will determine a project’s contribution to scholarship, the persuasiveness of its author, and the quality of the overall presentation.

  • presenters at GPHC
    Honors students present at the Meeting of the GPHC

    Scholars of Honors Northeast, the honors program of Northeast Texas Community College, presented recently for the fourteenth time at the annual meeting of the Great Plains Honors Council (GPHC), this time at Midwestern University in Wichita Falls. The GPHC, dating back to 1975, is an association of eighty honors programs and colleges, supported by both colleges and universities.  It represents one of the six regional components that make up the National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC).

  • students behind El Paso sign
    Honors Scholars win awards at Webb/TSHA meeting in El Paso

    Last weekend in El Paso, NTCC honors-student essayists won their 31st and 32nd Caldwell essay awards in Texas history.  The film effort of NTCC’s Webb Society and Honors Northeast won its fifth $600 Chapter Project Award, for the best creation in Texas history performed by any collegiate or university group. The generous awards are in memory of Texas oilman, Clifton M. Caldwell who in 1974 set up an endowment to reward the best collegiate scholars in Texas history.

  • film poster
    Texas Suffragette: The Minnie Fisher Cunningham Story premieres March 24th

    In this the eleventh cinematic premiere of a story from the Texas past in as many years, Honors Northeast, and the NTCC Webb Society will present a largely forgotten story that deserves its share of legendary acclaim. The film follows the tale of Minnie Fisher Cunningham, the leader who led the state’s suffragettes to an upset victory.  It was a triumph unique in the larger regional story of the South. At a time when the Solid South offered the most vociferous resistance to suffrage, Texas endorsed the Nineteenth Amendment.

  • alacrity screen shot
    31st issue of NTCC Honors’ Alacrity newsletter available

    Since 2008, the honors program of NTCC has published a biannual newsletter.  The recently released 2023 February edition can be accessed on the college website by clicking here. One can also write Honors Director, Dr. Andrew P. Yox, for a real copy at The current newsletter provides a summary of intervarsity student successes in the fall of 2023, including NTCC’s first attainment of the Portia Gordon Awards of the East Texas Historical Association, its anomalous showing in the recent publication of the state journal, Touchstone...